You learn about the rules when you… um, read the rules.

To be fair, it was an Errata/FAQ.

So you can't cast them up or down. If you can, there'll be a (S) for Shapeable in the Effect section.

Templates here… The templates for cone/line/etc that originate at the caster are exhaustive, i.e. can’t be angled up or down. I can’t find any exceptions to using the templates except when the spell as an (S) note.  Treat it as a house rule if you’d like, but it still a rule. Fireball can be cast to detonate at any distance/height and states that specifically, most template-that-originates-at-the-caster spells don’t. That starts getting into the territory of ranged attack spells.

One Comment on “You learn about the rules when you… um, read the rules.

  1. Pingback: The Acts of the Lords of Rannick, LIII « Dodecaheathens

%d bloggers like this: